Cronulla High School

Telephone02 9523 4017

Learning at our school

Cronulla High School has the tradition of educational excellence and our professional and skilled teachers are the key to that excellence. Our teachers are committed to nurturing the best possible outcomes for all students across the curriculum providing them with opportunities to experience success in their learning and personal growth.

An extension class known as 'C' operates in Year 7 to 10, for incoming Year 7 students an application and testing process occurs. In years 8 to 10 placement in the extension class is based on academic results. In years 8-10 students are also streamed for mathematics and science. A second or shadow class known as 'R' operates in each Year 7 to 10 with students placed in this class based on academic performance. All other classes in Year 7 to 10 are mixed ability.

The Learning menu contains a page for each faculty at Cronulla High School.

The NSW Education Standards Authority (NESA) is responsible for the curriculum, Kindergarten to Year 12, for all NSW schools.

For the high school years, NESA develops syllabuses for all subjects in 8 key learning areas:

  • creative arts
  • English
  • human society and its environment (HSIE)
  • languages
  • mathematics
  • personal development, health and physical education (PDHPE)
  • science
  • technological and applied studies (TAS).

NSW schools also offer special religious education and special education in ethics via approved providers, where available.

Like all NSW schools, we have developed teaching and learning programs to suit our local context and the needs of our students.

To learn more about the curriculum in NSW, visit: