Cronulla High School

Telephone02 9523 4017


Cronulla High participates in 2 debating competitions.

The Sutherland Shire Debating Competition is open to students in years 7 – 10 and incorporates local schools including St Patrick’s College, Caringbah High, Innaburra High, Kirrawee High, Woolooware High, St John Bosco College, Port Hacking High and Our Lady of Mercy College. The Premier’s Debating Challenge is open to students in years 7 – 11 and is a State and Regional Competition which is divided into zones encouraging debating with both local schools and also schools out of the Shire.

The debates usually begin at the beginning of Term 2, so interested students have the opportunity to meet together with the teacher who organises the teams during Term 1, to learn techniques and then practise preparing and debating with each other before competing with other schools.

Announcements at assembly inform the students of the debating meetings which are held during lunchtimes as required.